Music Monday: Gossamer

Music Monday is a series begun in an attempt to keep me from listening to this, this, and this song for the 456,070,877th time. Every Monday I’ll offer my completely untrained and value-less opinion on new (to me) music.
 
.   .   .
 
 

“Gossamer is a tortured beast, disguised in a crunchy candy shell.” This quote pretty much sums up the ethos of the album: an album full of catchy, can’t keep from dancing, feel-good summer tunes with lyrics that are sure to make you cringe.

Tracks to Dance To:

Tracks 01-03 are so catchy I find myself completely unable to keep still. I might have gotten a few odd stares at Oz Music, a few backwards glances as I shake it in the car, a few choice words as I grab my friend’s hand to force her to join along… So yes, it’s danceable.

Pure Poetry:

Underneath the light pop is the stuff of ages–the way that Michael Angelakos deals with his struggle makes it completely identifiable. My favorite was the hope in the struggle found in the very last song, “Where We Belong.”

It’s gotten cold in here
but a solemn warmth draws near
and with a gentle touch
all these burdens and such
fears are wiped clear
who says you ought to stay?
how’s this the easier way?
it’s far from giving up
cowards never say “enough is enough”

Scandalous:

Angelakos is quite tame with the naughty bits, wanting simply to “make love like we’re young” and “consecrate this messy thing.” He’s no Brittany Spears.

Top Three Downloads:

Track 01

Track 02

Track 12

Real Opinions:

The good.

http://www.npr.org/2012/07/15/156545328/first-listen-passion-pit-gossamer

The bad.

http://calitreview.com/29006

Leave a Reply

