The Black Keys & BBQ

Destination: Charlotte, NC.

On yet another weekend adventure, I drove (well, actually I didn’t, but you know…) 14 hours in 2 days to see The Black Keys in Charlotte, NC. Totally and completely worth it.

Though we went primarily for the concert, we (as professed foodies) also decided to seek out all-things-delicious that Charlotte had to offer. I do believe I ate more grease in the last two days then in the last two years. My heart does not thank me, but my mouth sure does! First stop, a place we discovered via Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives, The Penguin. We went for the world-famous fried pickles and homemade ranch, and it most certainly did not disappoint.

Afterward we checked out the neighborhood, then headed to our hotel. After swimming in the lap pool (I may or may not get as giddy as a 10-year-old schoolgirl when around water) and chilling in the men’s steam room (Spoiler alert: I did not get caught), we headed to the concert.

A coliseum of middle-aged, slightly inebriated ex-hippies dancing is always a treat, and The Black Keys certainly delivered. Any concert finished with two giant disco balls is a win in my book.

The night ended with pizza and beer. It was glorious.

The next day was also filled with delicious food and drink.

I finally saw real-life coffee art (!!) and drank what is hands-down the best espresso outside of Italy.

Also, I ate the.best.bbq of my life. As a true blooded Southerner, there is no way that I would joke about this. It was heavenly.

Midwood Smokehouse makes me want to move to Charlotte. I would do it, I would weigh 300lbs, and I would love it.

Afterward, we went back for coffee because the place was just so cute (please, please, please get a macchiato at Not Just Coffee) then hit the road (notable road snack discoveries: honey roasted peanuts, oreos chex mix, and funyuns).

Food + Fun = The perfect weekend.

 

 

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself, any direction you choose.

~Dr. Seuss

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Black Keys & BBQ

    • You know I don’t stand for that fake cheese nastiness. I only eat pure things, like fried rings with onion flavoring and chex mix dipped in “oreos.”

Leave a Reply

